Magic

There are those around me who say that it takes a magician to make something out of nothing. If that’s true then my wife is a consummate one. She has taught me by virtue of her example, how to create things out of thin air and make the seemingly impossible real.

Oh, I’m not talking about pulling a rabbit out of a hat, levitating an elephant or making the Statue of Liberty disappear, I’m talking about the practical, everyday working magic that we’re all capable of. She’s taught me that.

Seven years ago I was like most people. I believed that you worked your tail off, became a slave to routine and settled for what you got from that process. Nowadays, I know that you can conjure anything from the ether that you choose. Anything.

My wife went from near bankruptcy to owning several real estate properties, a healthy stock and options portfolio and a budding career as a financial advisor and fused glass artist in about four years. From distress to success. That’s the kind of magic I’m talking about.

I got to watch all that happen and it changed the way I live my life. I used to wait for opportunity to knock or for someone to walk up and invite me into a lucrative process. Consequently I spent a lot time waiting and not moving anywhere. These days I’m generally busy making magic happen too.

See, my wife believes in energy. She believes that if you put out positive energy all the time, the universe has no choice but to send the same thing back. It’s reciprocal. That’s a ten pound word for ‘what you give is what you get.’ That’s the magic act. That’s all there is to it.

I watched her perform that feat every day. I watched her life change. It was so fascinating I decided to do it myself and did things ever happen. I created a freelance network out of thin air. I created writing and speaking and teaching opportunities. I became a magician.

We all have that ability. That’s part of the magic. My people say, and my wife says, that we are all energy. If you direct it to what you want – it comes. Abracadabra. No hocus pocus, no spells. Choose it and allow it to happen. That’s the magic act and we are all magicians – we just need to believe that.

About Richard Wagamese

I am a published author with 13 titles published by major Canadian publishers. I am a First Nations person from the Ojibway Nation in Northwestern, Ontario, Canada. As a professional writer since 1979 I have written for newspaper, radio television, magazines and book publishing. I love the culture of books and the people who populate it. 2012 recipient of the National Aboriginal Achievement Award for Media & Communications. View all posts by Richard Wagamese

Leave a Reply

